Good news for the 30,000 inhabitants of the “secteur 13” area of Ouagadougou: 90% of the Burkina Faso Red Cross Healthcare and Social Advancement Centre is now rehabilitated, thanks to the participation of the Monaco Red Cross and the support of the Princely Government of Monaco. Funding is still required to ensure the sustainability of the project by training the medical team and supplying equipment for the new pharmacy.

A difficult environment

Burkina Faso is one of the poorest countries in the world: its human development index ranked it 181st out of 187 in 2011.Over 43% of the population lives below the poverty line and the health situation, despite positive improvement, is still characterised by high mortality rates. The population suffers from malaria, malnutrition, acute respiratory infections, diarrhoeal diseases and sexually transmitted infections, such as HIV/AIDS.

In such a situation, community healthcare facilities are essential. The Burkina Faso Red Cross Healthcare and Social Advancement Centre was created in 1985. It provides daily services via a medical laboratory, a pharmaceutical warehouse, a community clinic, an expanded immunisation programme and a maternal and child welfare section. In all, 18 people work there, 8 of whom are directly appointed by the Burkina Faso Ministry of Health.

Although a reference centre at the time it was built, it has experienced great difficulty over the last few years and has not been able to fulfil its role in supporting the most vulnerable people living in Ouagadougou. Apart from the significant equipment and infrastructure issues, the management of the centre had to be completely re-established.

Transversal and sustainable action

A comprehensive revitalisation project was set up by the Burkina Faso Red Cross. This entails long-term support, in which strengthening the skills of human resources, especially with regard to financial and operational management, occupy a central position.

Thanks to the participation of the Government of Monaco and the French Embassy in Burkina Faso, the first phase of the project, which consisted of rehabilitating the premises as well as building and fitting out a pharmaceutical warehouse, has been completed in accordance with the Burkina Faso standards in force.

The rehabilited centre is operational and accessible

The community clinic and laboratory are in the process of being fitted out: medical devices for the first, devices, consumables and reagents for the second, not forgetting the emergency and first aid equipment (part of which was provided by the Hospital of Monaco). Everything needed to care for the 30,000 people who directly depend on the establishment, at a minimal cost, since a consultation with a doctor costs only one Euro fifty.

We are still looking for 25,000 € to be able to see this project through to completion. With this amount, the staff can be given training in first aid, patient admission and care, as well as laboratory or computer techniques and stock management. Finally, the centre will also benefit from a final budget to ensure its visibility and restore trust in patients. Enough to activate an income-generating cycle to enable it to become quickly independent…

The need for long-term support

We are committed to improving the living conditions of the most vulnerable people in the world on a sustainable basis. By means of projects involving the local communities, in partnership with the Red Cross and Red Crescent societies in the field, auxiliaries to the public authorities, we have been implementing our expertise in primary care, health, food security and education since 2007.

These efforts require a significant financial contribution : we are actively seeking private donors and companies willing to invest in these solidarity projects. If you are interested in social responsibility or if you simply would like to find out more, please contact the international humanitarian section :

via email : inter@croix-rouge.mc or by telephone: +377 97 97 68 05.

There are no products

Une bonne nouvelle pour les 30.000 habitants de ce quartier de Ouagadougou : le centre de santé et de promotion sociale de la Croix-Rouge burkinabé est aujourd’hui réhabilité à 90%, grâce à la participation de la Croix-Rouge monégasque et au soutien du Gouvernement Princier. Reste à financer la pérennisation du projet par la formation de l’équipe médicale et l’achat d’équipement pour la nouvelle pharmacie.

Un contexte difficile

Le Burkina Faso fait partie des pays les plus pauvres du monde : son indice de développement humain le place au 181ème rang sur 187 en 2011. Plus de 43% de la population vit en dessous du seuil de pauvreté et la situation sanitaire, malgré une amélioration certaine, reste caractérisée par des taux de mortalité élevés. La population souffre du paludisme, de malnutrition, d’infections respiratoires aigües, de maladies diarrhéiques, et d’infections sexuellement transmissibles comme le VIH/Sida.

Dans ce contexte, les structures de santé communautaire sont essentielles. Le centre de santé et de promotion sociale de la Croix-Rouge burkinabè a été créé en 1985. Il apporte des services au quotidien via un laboratoire d’analyses médicales, un dépôt pharmaceutique, un dispensaire, un programme de vaccination élargi et une section de santé maternelle et infantile. Au total, 18 personnes y travaillent, dont 8 personnes directement affectées par le Ministère de la Santé burkinabè.

S’il avait pu être un centre de référence à l’époque de sa construction, il connaissait ces dernières années de grandes difficultés et n’était plus en mesure d’assurer son rôle de soutien aux personnes les plus vulnérables de la ville de Ouagadougou. Outre des problèmes importants de matériel et d’infrastructures, la gestion du centre devait être entièrement reprise en mains.

Une action transversale et durable

Un projet complet autour de sa redynamisation a été monté par la Croix-Rouge burkinabè. Il s’agit d’un accompagnement sur le long terme, dans lequel le renforcement des compétences des ressources humaines, notamment celles dédiés à la gestion financière et opérationnelle, occupe une place importante.

Grâce à la participation du Gouvernement Princier et de l’ambassade de France au Burkina Faso, la première phase du projet, qui consistait à réhabiliter les locaux, ainsi qu’à construire et équiper un dépôt pharmaceutique, a pu être réalisée, selon les normes burkinabè en vigueur.

 

un centre accessible et opérationnel

Le dispensaire et le laboratoire sont en cours d’équipement : appareils médicotechniques pour l’un, appareils, consommables et réactifs pour l’autre, sans oublier le matériel d’urgence et de premiers soins (dont une partie a été offerte par l’hôpital de Monaco). De quoi permettre de prendre en charge les 30.000 personnes qui dépendent directement de l’établissement, à un coût modique, puisque le coût d’une consultation médicale est à un euro cinquante par patient.

A ce jour, nous recherchons encore 25.000 € pour mener ce projet à terme. Grâce à ce montant, le personnel pourra être formé aux premiers secours, à l’accueil et à la prise en charge des patients, mais aussi aux techniques de laboratoire ou à l’informatique et à la gestion des stocks. Enfin, le centre bénéficiera également d’un budget de départ pour assurer sa visibilité et redonner confiance aux patients attendus. De quoi démarrer un cycle générateur de revenus qui lui permettra d’être rapidement autonome…

La nécessité d’un soutien sur le long terme

Nous nous engageons pour l’amélioration durable des conditions de vie des populations les plus vulnérables dans le monde. A travers des projets qui impliquent les communautés locales, en partenariat avec les sociétés de Croix-Rouge et de Croissant-Rouge sur le terrain, auxiliaires des pouvoirs publics, nous mettons en œuvre depuis 2007 notre expertise en premiers secours, santé, sécurité alimentaire ou éducation.

Ces actions nécessitent une participation financière importante : nous recherchons activement des donateurs privés et des entreprises prêtes à investir dans ces projets solidaires. Si la responsabilité sociale vous intéresse, ou si vous souhaitez simplement en savoir plus, vous pouvez contacter la section humanitaire internationale de la Croix-Rouge monégasque :

 

ou par téléphone : +377 97 97 68 05.
Votre panier est vide