To combat food security in Burkina Faso, the Monegasque Red Cross is supporting a long-term programme implemented by its Burkina Faso counterpart

Difficult ground

Located in the heart of West Africa, Burkina Faso is a landlocked Sahelian country whose economy mainly depends on agriculture and cattle farming, which account for 86.6% of the working population. However, only 34% of families have permanent access to drinking water and malnutrition affects close to one third of children from 0 to 5 years old. In the event of a crisis, a significant portion of the population becomes extremely vulnerable.

The Soum province is particularly subject to a difficult climate and increasing population. The often critical situation has spurred the international community into action, but the problem is recurrent and the crises multiplying in number.

The Burkina Faso Red Cross initiated a long-term project in 2013 which will eventually lead to a radical change in mentality.

Coping with future food crises

470 families (over 6,500 people) suffering from chronic debt, weak management capacities and a lack of tools for farming or livestock activities, together with 660 women have joined forces to sell their crops and will benefit from the support of the Red Cross over a three-year period in order to cope with any future food crises.

Currently, eight months after the beginning of these activities, the land has been purchased and farming equipment distributed: some beneficiaries, alone or in groups, have received ploughs, pickaxes, wheelbarrows and seeding kits, training in agro-ecological farming practices has been provided by Red Cross volunteers, while some stockbreeders will soon be receiving sheep and be given training in breeding and the construction of enclosures. Finally, target families and women’s groups, in addition to some schools, will benefit from food hygiene training by the end of 2014.

Distribution des outils agricoles

Currently, eight months after the beginning of these activities, the land has been purchased and farming equipment distributed: some beneficiaries, alone or in groups, have received ploughs, pickaxes, wheelbarrows and seeding kits, training in agro-ecological farming practices has been provided by Red Cross volunteers, while some stockbreeders will soon be receiving sheep and be given training in breeding and the construction of enclosures. Finally, target families and women’s groups, in addition to some schools, will benefit from food hygiene training by the end of 2014.

Water : an essential resource

In this region, over half the population has no access to drinking water. Consequently, the rate of diarrhoeal disease is much higher than in the rest of the country. Therefore the Red Cross has also had to work on improving the food security, water access and health conditions of this population.

Thanks to funding from the White Feather Foundation, the Red Cross has raised the awareness of over 3,700 people with regard to personal hygiene, water management and water-borne diseases. It has also restored two bore holes in Koutougou so that both people and cattle can enjoy drinking quality water. Finally, 50 families have been equipped with latrines.

The project, as a whole, was a success. In only 7 months it led to heightened awareness among the region’s population. That is why most of the families have expressed the need for longer term support in order to adopt good practices with regard to hygiene and sanitation on a sustainable basis. It should be noted that only part of the population were able to benefit from this initiative: the extent of need is greater, with regard to water access for villagers, the construction of latrines (only 28% of all needs are covered in this area compared to the national standard) and hygiene and sanitation practices. Consequently, upon the termination of the project, the Burkina Faso Red Cross recommends long-term follow-up and a thorough appraisal in this intervention area.

One condition : your contribution

The humanitarian section of the Monegasque Red Cross is an international team committed to improving the living conditions on a sustainable basis of the most vulnerable people in the world. By means of projects involving the local communities, the Monegasque Red Cross, in partnership with the Red Cross and Red Crescent societies in the field, auxiliaries to the public authorities, has been implementing its expertise in primary care, health, food security and education since 2007.

These efforts require a significant financial contribution: the Red Cross is actively seeking private donors and companies willing to invest in these solidarity projects. If you are interested in social responsibility or if you simply would like to find out more, please contact the international humanitarian section

via email : inter@croix-rouge.mc or by telephone : +377 97 97 68 05.

There are no products

Dans la lutte contre l’insécurité alimentaire au Burkina Faso, la Croix-Rouge Monégasque soutient un programme durable mis en œuvre par son homologue burkinabè

Un terrain difficile

Situé au cœur de l’Afrique Occidentale, le Burkina Faso est un pays sahélien enclavé, dont l’économie repose essentiellement sur l’agriculture et l’élevage, qui occupent 86,6% de la population active. Cependant, seules 34% des familles ont un accès permanent à l’eau potable, et la malnutrition touche près d’un tiers des enfants de 0 à 5 ans. En cas de crise, une bonne partie de la population devient extrêmement vulnérable

La province du Soum est notamment soumise à un climat difficile et à une démographie croissante. La situation souvent critique pousse la communauté internationale à se mobiliser, mais le problème est récurrent et les crises se multiplient.
Après avoir apporté une aide d’urgence suite à la grande sécheresse de 2012, qui a provoqué une grave crise alimentaire accentuée par l’arrivée de milliers de réfugiés du Mali, la Croix-Rouge monégasque et la Croix-Rouge burkinabè ont démarré en 2013 un projet s’inscrivant dans la durée, impliquant à terme une profonde évolution des mentalités.

S’armer contre les prochaines crises alimentaires

Ainsi, ce sont 470 familles (plus de 6 500 personnes), caractérisées par leur endettement chronique, leurs faibles capacités de gestion et un manque d’outils pour l’agriculture ou l’élevage, et 660 femmes qui se sont regroupées pour commercialiser leurs cultures, qui vont bénéficier, trois ans durant, d’un soutien de la Croix-Rouge pour s’armer contre les futures crises alimentaires.

Aujourd’hui, huit mois après le démarrage des activités, les terrains ont été acquis et le matériel agricole a été distribué : certains bénéficiaires, seuls ou en groupements, ont reçu des charrues, des pioches, des brouettes et des kits de semences, des formations aux techniques de culture agro-écologiques ont été dispensées par les volontaires de la Croix-Rouge, tandis que certains éleveurs vont recevoir prochainement des brebis et seront formés à l’élevage et à la construction d’enclos. Enfin, les familles ciblées, les groupements de femmes, ainsi que certaines écoles, bénéficieront de formations en hygiène alimentaire d’ici la fin de l’année 2014.

Distribution des outils agricoles

L’eau : une ressource essentielle
Dans cette région, plus de la moitié de la population n’a pas accès à l’eau potable. Par conséquent, le taux de maladies diarrhéiques y est plus élevé que dans le reste du pays. La Croix-Rouge devait donc aussi travailler sur l’amélioration de la sécurité alimentaire par l’accès à l’eau et l’amélioration des conditions sanitaires de cette population.
Ainsi, grâce à un financement de la White Feather Foundation, la Croix-Rouge a réalisé auprès de plus de 3 700 personnes une sensibilisation sur l’hygiène personnelle, la gestion de l’eau et les maladies d’origine hydrique. Elle a également réhabilité deux forages sur la commune de Koutougou, pour qu’hommes et bétail puissent apprécier une eau de qualité. Enfin, elle a permis à 50 familles de s’équiper de latrines.
Le projet a été, dans son ensemble, une réussite. Il a permis, en seulement 7 mois, un éveil des consciences parmi les populations de cette région. C’est pourquoi la plupart des familles ont exprimé le besoin d’un accompagnement à plus long terme pour adopter durablement des bonnes pratiques en matière d’hygiène et d’assainissement. A noter qu’une partie de la population seulement a pu bénéficier de cette initiative : l’étendue des besoins est bien plus importante, tant en matière d’accès à l’eau pour les villageois, de construction de latrines (seulement 28% des besoins sont couverts dans cette zone, par rapport à la norme nationale), que de pratiques d’hygiène et d’assainissement. Ainsi, à l’issue du projet, la Croix-Rouge burkinabè recommande un suivi durable et une évaluation plus poussée dans cette zone d’intervention.
Une condition : votre participation
La section humanitaire de la Croix-Rouge monégasque est une équipe internationale engagée pour l’amélioration durable des conditions de vie des populations les plus vulnérables dans le monde. A travers des projets qui impliquent les communautés locales, en partenariat avec les sociétés de Croix-Rouge et de Croissant-Rouge sur le terrain, auxiliaires des pouvoirs publics, la Croix-Rouge monégasque met en œuvre depuis 2007 son expertise en premiers secours, santé, sécurité alimentaire ou éducation.

Ces actions nécessitent une participation financière importante : la Croix-Rouge recherche activement des donateurs privés et des entreprises prêtes à investir dans ces projets solidaires. Si la responsabilité sociale vous intéresse, ou si vous souhaitez simplement en savoir plus, vous pouvez contacter la section humanitaire internationale

Votre panier est vide