As the new school year begins in Monaco, the Monegasque Red Cross focuses on the fate of these children who don’t have the privilege of going to school

For three and a half years, the Burkina Faso Red Cross “Child Protection” cooperation unit, in partnership with the Monegasque Red Cross, has given support to hundreds of young female home helps in Burkina Faso

In Ouagadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, almost all households employ at least one female home help. As early as 10 years old, they leave their home villages for backbreaking work sometimes involving violence and often with no prospects for the future. Younger, more obedient and less costly: cheap and exploitable labour from early morning to often late at night, the girls have to cope with abusive situations in certain households.

With substantial experience in the social sphere, the Burkina Faso Red Cross, with the support of the Monegasque Red Cross, set up a project in 2010 in order to protect these girls and offer them the opportunity to gain access to education. The project is geared towards young girls aged between 10 and 18 who are already working as home helps in Burkina Faso’s two largest cities, Ouagadougou and Bobo-Dioulasso, but also young girls from a region where the risk of early migration is high – Poni. Furthermore, the project raises the awareness of village parents, employers and those providing accommodation to the young girls in the city.

With the participation of the players involved in child protection and labour law, the Red Cross is committed to resolving conflict, raising awareness about basic hygiene and health, to getting the young female victims of violence to the appropriate services with individual follow-up, giving them a basic education (reading, writing, arithmetic), vocational training in hairdressing, dressmaking or home economics, in addition to material and/or financial support for starting up an income-generating activity.

From 2010 to 2012, 440 young girls joined the programme, which in only three years, has resulted in general awareness among the population and the authorities. On completion of the six-year project, at the end of 2016, 940 young girls in all will have benefitted from the programme. A new assessment will then be made and information efforts continue to be made about this issue which undoubtedly will need many years to raise awareness at every level so that these children are no longer exploited and are able to enjoy a decent and peaceful future…

There are no products

En cette periode de rentrée scolaire à Monaco, la Croix-Rouge Monégasque se penche sur le sort de ces enfants qui n’ont pas le privilège d’aller à l’école

Depuis trois ans et demi, la coordination « protection de l’enfance » de la Croix-Rouge burkinabè, en partenariat avec la Croix-Rouge monégasque apporte un soutien à des centaines de jeunes filles aides familiales du Burkina Faso

A Ouagadougou, capitale du Burkina Faso, la quasi-totalité des ménages emploie au moins une fille aide familiale. Dès 10 ans, elles quittent leurs villages d’origine pour un travail harassant parfois accompagné de violences, et souvent sans perspective d’avenir. Plus jeunes, plus dociles et moins coûteuses : une force de travail corvéable du matin au soir, et parfois tard dans la nuit, devant faire face à des situations de violence à leur égard dans certains foyers.

Forte d’une solide expérience dans le domaine social, la Croix-Rouge burkinabè, avec l’accompagnement de la Croix-Rouge monégasque, a démarré en 2010 un projet visant à les protéger et à leur permettre d’accéder à l’éducation. Le projet s’adresse aux jeunes filles de 10 à 18 ans déjà aides familiales dans les deux grandes villes du Burkina Faso, Ouagadougou et Bobo-Dioulasso, mais également aux jeunes filles provenant d’une région où le risque de migration précoce est élevé, le Poni. En outre, le projet sensibilise aussi les parents dans les villages, les employeurs et les logeurs de ces jeunes filles en ville.

Avec l’implication des acteurs de la protection des enfants et du droit du travail, la Croix-Rouge s’est attelée à la résolution des conflits, la sensibilisation en hygiène et en santé de base, l’acheminement des jeunes filles victimes de violences vers les services appropriés avec un suivi individualisé, l’éducation de base (lecture, écriture, calcul), la formation professionnelle en coiffure, couture ou arts ménagers, puis le soutien matériel et/ou financier pour démarrer une activité génératrice de revenus.

De 2010 à 2012, 440 jeunes filles avaient intégré le programme, qui, en seulement trois ans, aura permis une prise de conscience générale de la part de la population et des autorités. A l’issue des six ans du projet, fin 2016, 940 jeunes filles au total auront bénéficié du programme. Il sera alors temps de faire un nouveau bilan et de continuer à informer sur cette problématique qui nécessitera, sans doute, bien des années de prise de conscience à tous les niveaux, pour que les enfants ne soient plus exploités et qu’ils puissent bénéficier d’un avenir digne et serein…

Votre panier est vide