Thanks to the funds raised from our jumble sale and to the financial support of the Monaco Government, our teams are helping to improve the skills in emergency care of the niger red cross.

Photo : © Benoit Matsha – Carpentier / IFRC

After two experiences in Mali and Burkina Faso, our international humanitarian section is giving support to its counterpart in Niger. Three years’ mentoring is usually necessary in order to improve national emergency aid cover on a long-term basis: we are actively seeking funds to complete the funding for this project.

Jumble Sale : a successful 2013 edition at the Espace Léo Ferré

Monaco, Saturday 4th May 2013. Under the glorious sunshine, a joyful gathering of people crowded the doors of the Espace Léo Ferré, previously known as the “Salle du Canton” in Fontvieille. This was the first time we organised our traditional jumble sale here in aid of our first aid project in Niger. It was also the first time that shoppers, families and the inquisitive, young and old alike, have been able to take part in a series of workshops and to get to know the Monaco Red Cross better, including emergency aid, humanitarian law, history of our Movement, solidarity, health awareness. This event-packed day brought together 1,500 visitors!

The outcome of the jumble sale was very successful, with proceeds amounting to 41,200 € raised thanks to the sale of items at unbeatable prices. The earnings enabled a capacity building project of the Niger Red Cross.

Europe/Africa : Always not equal in the event of an accident

Perhaps you already know the “PSC1” course which teaches you to give appropriate first aid care when confronted with an accident. Our instructors provide such training free of charge to anybody who is interested. Subsequently, over 600 people every year leave our offices at 24 boulevard de Suisse with their certificates…To find out more, look under the “training” section on our website.

However, first aid is not taught in the same way in Africa as in Monaco. While the risk of a heart attack is higher in Europe, as witnessed by the number of semi-automatic defibrillators across the Principality, in Africa the population is faced with a greater number of road accidents, injuries relating to armed conflict and other dangerous situations.

Ambitious projects to improve emergency care

In 2003 our co-operation efforts began with one of the Red Cross societies in West Africa in the field of emergency care, through an ingenious project to support emergency aid in Mali. Following on from Burkina Faso between 2010 and 2012, we are now developing this project in Niger. The goal: to help ensure that victims of violence or accidents in Niamey (the capital) and priority areas benefit from appropriate emergency care in time on a permanent basis.

In concrete terms, in addition to providing high-quality equipment adapted to the local conditions, an emergency aid manual has been published. Communication campaigns have been launched, instructor training sessions have been organised for volunteers and paid training courses have been offered to companies and groups that wish to take part across the country. The income generated by these services will enable the Niger Red Cross to gain financial independence, and to be prepared in the event of a disaster.

Solidarity partner sought for financial support

Over the years, our action has evolved, from small steps to great triumphs. Consequently at the end of 2013, a training session for instructors co-ordinated by Sayouba Savadogo, project manager in Niger, welcomed instructors from the Red Cross in Burkina Faso, who themselves had received instructors from Mali in their country…

Through these projects, we aim to improve global emergency care services provided in the West African region, while at the same time strengthening the capacity of the Red Cross societies concerned and promoting regional cooperation. However the idea, although sustainable, comes at a cost. We could count on the financial participation of the Monaco Government, which helped 35 emergency teams (175 professionnal first aid volunteers of the Niger Red Cross) to be fully equipped and trained by the end of 2013. However, to meet our objectives in Niger, we need to continue providing support over the next three years. Approximately 200,000 Euros is still needed for this project… Calling all private contributors and companies looking for solidarity partnerships.

If you would like to support this project, please contact the international humanitarian section :

via email : inter@croix-rouge.mc or by telephone: +377 97 97 68 05.

There are no products

Grâce aux fonds générés par notre grande braderie et au soutien du Gouvernement Princier, nos équipes contribuent à renforcer les capacités en premiers secours de la Croix-Rouge du Niger.

Photo : © Benoit Matsha – Carpentier / IFRC

Après deux expériences menées au Mali et au Burkina Faso, notre section humanitaire internationale apporte son soutien à sa consœur nigérienne. Trois ans d’accompagnement sont généralement nécessaires afin d’améliorer durablement la couverture nationale en premiers secours : nous recherchons activement des fonds pour compléter le financement de ce projet.

Braderie 2013 : un succès à l’espace Léo Ferré

Monaco, samedi 4 mai 2013. Sous un soleil radieux, une joyeuse foule se presse aux portes de l’espace Léo Ferré, dit anciennement « Salle du Canton », à Fontvieille. C’est la première fois que nous y organisons notre traditionnelle braderie au bénéfice d’un projet de solidarité internationale. C’est aussi la première fois que les acheteurs, les familles ou les curieux petits et grands peuvent s’initier à une série d’ateliers et découvrir la Croix-Rouge monégasque : premiers secours, droit humanitaire, histoire de notre Mouvement, solidarité, sensibilisations en santé… Cette journée riche en activités a réuni 1.500 visiteurs !

Le bilan de la braderie s’était avéré très positif, puisque 41.200 € de chiffre d’affaires ont été générés par la vente d’articles à prix défiant toute concurrence. Et comme annoncé, les recettes ont permis de démarrer un projet de renforcement des capacités en premiers secours en faveur de la Croix-Rouge nigérienne.

Europe/Afrique : pas tous égaux en cas d’accident

Vous connaissez peut-être la formation « PSC1 », qui permet d’apporter des secours de manière appropriée lorsqu’on est confronté à un accident. Nos formateurs la délivrent gratuitement à toute personne intéressée. Ainsi, chaque année, ce sont plus de 600 personnes qui sortent diplômées du 24 boulevard de Suisse… Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à l’onglet « formations ».

Mais les premiers secours ne s’enseignent pas de la même manière à Monaco ou en Afrique. Tandis que le risque d’accidents cardiaques est plus élevé en Europe, en témoigne la présence dans toute la Principauté de défibrillateurs semi-automatiques ; en Afrique, la population est confrontée à beaucoup plus d’accidents de la route, de blessés liés à des conflits armés ou encore de situations particulièrement violentes.

Des projets ambitieux d’amélioration des premiers secours

C’est en 2003 que commence notre collaboration avec une Croix-Rouge ouest-africaine dans le domaine des premiers secours, via un ingénieux projet de soutien en premiers secours au Mali. Après le Burkina Faso de 2010 à 2012, nous développons aujourd’hui ce projet au Niger. L’objectif : contribuer à ce que les victimes de situations de violence ou d’accidents, à Niamey (la capitale) et dans des zones prioritaires, bénéficient à temps de premiers secours adaptés et ce, de façon pérenne.

Concrètement, outre l’apport d’un matériel de qualité adapté aux spécificités locales, un manuel de premiers secours est édité, des campagnes de communication sont lancées, des formations de formateurs sont organisées auprès de volontaires et des formations payantes sont proposées aux entreprises et aux groupes qui le souhaitent dans l’ensemble du pays. Les revenus générés par ces services permettent une rapide autonomie financière de la Croix-Rouge locale, qui a besoin de mobiliser rapidement des ressources en cas de catastrophe.

Cherche partenaire solidaire pour soutien financier

Au fil des ans, de petits pas en belles victoires, notre action a évolué. Ainsi, fin 2013, une formation de moniteurs coordonnée par Sayouba Savadogo, chargé du projet au Niger, a accueilli des instructeurs de la Croix-Rouge burkinabé, qui avaient eux-mêmes reçu, dans leur pays, des instructeurs maliens…
Avec ces projets, nous visons une amélioration globale des premiers secours dans la région ouest-africaine, tout en consolidant les capacités des sociétés de Croix-Rouge concernées et en favorisant la coopération régionale. Mais l’idée, bien que durable, a un coût. Nous avons pu compter sur la participation financière du Gouvernement Princier, qui a permis l’équipement et la formation de 7 brigades d’urgence en fin d’année 2013, soit environ 35 équipes et 175 équipiers de la Croix-Rouge nigérienne. Mais pour atteindre nos objectifs au Niger, nous devons poursuivre notre accompagnement durant trois ans. Or, à l’heure actuelle, environ 200.000 euros sont toujours recherchés pour ce projet… Avis aux donateurs privés ou aux entreprises qui recherchent des partenariats solidaires.

Si vous souhaitez soutenir ce projet, vous pouvez contacter la section humanitaire internationale :

Tél : +377 97 97 68 22
Votre panier est vide