In November 2013, the Philippines was hit by Typhoon Haiyan, a devastating disaster for its inhabitants. 16 million people were directly affected; thousands lost family members, their homes, their lodgings and their jobs. Six months after the passage of the typhoon, millions of people are still in a precarious situation. The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, one of the rare organisations to deliver humanitarian assistance across all affected islands, launched an ambitious rehabilitation plan for the survivors.

The Monegasque Red Cross responded immediately and relayed this appeal to the population. Thanks to the donations received, it was able to hand over 357,450€ to its partners at the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), between November 2013 and April 2014.

To date, 315 million Swiss Francs (258 million Euros) of funds has been raised by the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement worldwide, making the Principality, in proportion to its size, one of the most generous States for this disaster, thanks to an incredible show of solidarity. In total, 320 million Swiss Francs (262 million Euros) is needed to complete the recovery plan, which will run over a three-year period and provide assistance to 775,000 people.

“Affected communities have shown remarkable strength and many are on the road to recovery. However, high levels of pre-existing poverty are holding people back and in some areas basic services have not been re-established”, says Richard Gordon, Chairman of the Philippine Red Cross. “Our recovery work will focus on restoring shelter, livelihoods and access to health care, to help affected communities overcome the hardships of the past six months and become self-reliant again.”

Since the disaster struck, the Philippine Red Cross, the IFRC, the ICRC and over 50 national societies from around the world have between them distributed emergency relief, including food, shelter items and cash, to more than 1 million people. The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement has distributed cash grants to 75,000 households and has met 25% of emergency shelter needs, providing tents, tarpaulins and other materials to almost 140,000 households. Support has already begun to roll out to cover the sustainable needs of all the families affected. The reconstruction of healthcare facilities and water networks in affected areas is well under way, as are livelihood support programmes through training and the development of new economic activities.

Finally, the project will enhance the Philippine Red Cross’ capacity to respond to future disasters through targeted skills training for volunteers and strengthening expertise in disaster management and disaster risk reduction.

“We are very proud of the solidarity and good cooperation the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement has demonstrated” says Gwendolyn Pang, Secretary General of the Philippine Red Cross, even adding: “Our most unique asset is our volunteer base”. Over 8,000 Red Cross volunteers have been at the forefront of the emergency response, alongside the hundreds of international and national staff deployed to the affected area. »

There are no products

En novembre 2013, les Philippines subissaient le typhon Haiyan, une catastrophe dévastatrice pour ses habitants. 16 millions de personnes furent directement touchées ; des milliers perdirent des membres de leurs familles, leur logement, leur emploi.  Six mois après le passage du typhon, des millions de personnes se trouvent toujours dans une situation précaire. Le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, l’une des rares organisations à délivrer une assistance humanitaire à l’ensemble des îles touchées, a lancé un ambitieux projet de réhabilitation en faveur des survivants.

La Croix-Rouge monégasque avait réagi de manière instantanée et relayé cet appel auprès de la population. Grâce aux dons récoltés, elle a pu transmettre 357.450€ à ses partenaires du Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, la Fédération Internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR) et le Comité International de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), entre novembre 2013 et avril 2014.

A ce jour, 315 millions de francs suisses (258 millions d’euros) de dons ont été récoltés par le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge dans le monde, faisant de la Principauté, proportionnellement à sa taille, l’un des Etats les plus généreux pour cette catastrophe, grâce à un formidable élan de solidarité. Au total, 320 millions de francs suisses (262 millions d’euros) seront nécessaires pour mener à bien le projet, lancé sur trois ans, pour venir en aide à 775.000 personnes.

« Les communautés touchées ont fait preuve d’une force remarquable et plusieurs ont presque retrouvé leur niveau de vie précédant la catastrophe. Mais une pauvreté importante rend les choses plus difficiles, et dans certaines régions, les services de base ne sont toujours pas rétablis » précise Richard Gordon, Président de la Croix-Rouge Philippine. « Notre travail de réhabilitation consiste à restaurer les bâtiments, les niveaux de vie et l’accès aux soins de santé, afin d’aider les communautés touchées à surmonter les épreuves de ces six derniers mois et à être autonomes à nouveau. »

Depuis, la Croix-Rouge philippine, la FICR, le CICR et plus de 50 sociétés nationales à travers le monde ont contribué à distribuer une aide d’urgence, une aide alimentaire, des abris, des soins de santé et des soutiens financiers, à plus d’un million de personnes. Le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge a distribué des bourses à 75.000 foyers et a pu répondre à 25% des besoins en abris, en fournissant des tentes, des bâches et d’autres matériaux à près de 140.000 foyers. Le soutien a également déjà évolué pour couvrir les besoins plus durables des familles touchées. La reconstruction des structures de santé et des réseaux d’eau dans les régions affectées suit son cours, tout comme les programmes de soutien aux populations par des formations et le développement de nouvelles activités économiques.

Enfin, le projet permettra aussi de renforcer les capacités de la Croix-Rouge philippine de réponse aux futures catastrophes via des formations ciblées pour les volontaires et le renforcement de son expertise en gestion des catastrophes et en réduction des risques.

« Nous sommes très fiers de la solidarité et de la bonne coopération dont a fait preuve le Mouvement International de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge », conclut Gwendolyn Pang, secrétaire générale de la Croix-Rouge Philippine, qui ajoute même : « Notre avantage unique nous vient de tous nos volontaires. Ils ont été plus de 8.000 à intervenir en urgence, aux côtés des centaines de personnel humanitaire national et international déployés dans la région touchée. »

Votre panier est vide