A few weeks after typhoon Haiyan struck, a concrete solution is being provided to support the thousands of people affected by the disaster in the Philippines.

On 12th November 2013, the Monaco Red Cross launched an appeal for donations following the devastation wrought by the typhoon which is thought to have affected 11 million people in the Philippines. Over 300,000 Euros has currently been raised which will enable action to be implemented on site. But that is not all : details of successful mobilisation.

“Many people have lost their home and are in a desperate situation. These people need food, shelter and water. It will be a long road towards rehabilitation”, says Richard Gordon, Chairman of the Philippine Red Cross.

308,234.45 Euros raised in Monaco

The Red Cross is therefore going to be able to help its sister organisation the Philippine Red Cross to provide basic humanitarian aid to thousands of families affected by the disaster. The Monaco Red Cross is contributing towards two main actions:

  • 80,000 € of aid to supply food, drinking water and shelter in addition to other essential goods to 100,000 families over an 18-month period, by contributing towards the action of the Philippine Red Cross supported by the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies.
  • 80,000 € of aid to the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) which will complement the support to the victims. “We will be providing essential aid: food, water, shelter and community healthcare. We are also going to help the members of separated families so that they can be reunited, and work with the authorities to provide decent living conditions for the detainees”, explains Alain Aeschlimann, Head of Operations for the ICRC in this region.
  • The remaining funds will be sent over the next few weeks according to needs.

The Philippines, one of the countries most prone to natural disasters

The Philippine Red Cross has had to cope with a number of emergency situations, including typhoons and flooding in September 2013, and more recently an earthquake with a magnitude of 7.2, which hit Bohol. As such, an amount of 30,000 € was released by the Monaco Red Cross in order to continue to provide support for the various actions already implemented.

Support for Monegasque organisations

Amade Mondiale (whose headquarters are located in Monaco) and Virlanie (a local Foundation) have been working together for close to fifteen years in an effort to rehouse vulnerable families in the shantytowns of Manila. The Monaco Red Cross has released 50,000 € in support of their joint project. Subsequently, Amade Mondiale is launching its “Bangon Probinsya” operation with the aim of permanently rehousing 47 families including concrete activities to purchase land and build housing in their home province; while covering schooling for children over a 3-year period and facilitating access to health care and micro-credit services.

The Monaco Red Cross is involved with all types of associations, whether small or large. This is the case for the Philippine Association of Monaco, which received 10,000 € from the Monaco Red Cross to fund the postage costs of parcels for disaster-stricken families.

The situation in the Philippines, still tragic, warrants the attention and aid of all. You can continue to help by sending your donations to the Monaco Red Cross, mentioning “Philippines” by the post to

27, Bd de Suisse,98000 Monaco or by logging onto our website : www.croix-rouge.mc.

There are no products

Quelques semaines après le passage du Typhon Haiyan, une réponse concrète est apportée pour soutenir les nombreuses personnes touchées par la catastrophe aux Philippines

Le 12 novembre dernier, la Croix-Rouge monégasque lançait un appel aux dons après le passage dévastateur du typhon qui aura affecté près de 11 millions de personnes aux Philippines. Aujourd’hui, ce sont plus de 300.000 euros de dons qui ont été recueillis et qui vont permettre une action sur place. Mais pas seulement : détails d’une mobilisation réussie.

« Beaucoup de personnes ont perdu leur logement, et sont dans une situation désespérée. Ces personnes ont besoin de nourriture, d’un abri, d’eau. La route sera longue vers la réhabilitation », témoigne Richard Gordon, président de la Croix-Rouge philippine.

308.235,45 euros récoltés à Monaco

La Croix-Rouge va ainsi pouvoir aider sa société sœur la Croix-Rouge philippine afin d’apporter une aide humanitaire de base à des milliers de familles affectées par la catastrophe. La Croix-Rouge monégasque participe à deux actions principales :

  • 80.000 € d’aide à la fourniture de vivres, d’eau potable, d’abris ainsi que d’autres biens de première nécessité à 100.000 familles sur une période de 18 mois, avec la participation à l’action de la Croix-Rouge philippine soutenue par la Fédération internationale des sociétés de Croix-Rouge et de Croissant Rouge.
  • 80.000 € d’aide au Comité International de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), qui complétera l’assistance aux victimes. « Nous allons y apporter une aide essentielle : des vivres, de l’eau, des abris et des soins de santé communautaires. Nous allons également venir en aide aux membres de familles séparées afin qu’ils puissent se retrouver, et travailler avec les autorités pour apporter des conditions de vie décentes aux détenus », explique Alain Aeschlimann, chef des opérations du CICR dans cette région.
  • Les fonds restants seront transférés dans les semaines qui viennent en fonction des besoins.

Les Philippines, l’un des pays les plus en proie aux catastrophes naturelles

La Croix-Rouge philippine a dû faire face à de nombreuses urgences, dont des typhons et des inondations en septembre 2013, et plus récemment, un tremblement de terre de magnitude 7,2, qui a frappé Bohol. A ces titres, la somme de 30.000 € a été débloquée par la Croix-Rouge monégasque, afin de continuer à soutenir les différentes actions déjà mises en place.

Un soutien aux organismes monégasques engagés

L’Amade Mondiale (dont le siège est situé à Monaco) et Virlanie (une Fondation locale), œuvrent ensemble depuis près de 15 ans dans le domaine du relogement des familles vulnérables des bidonvilles de Manille. La Croix-Rouge monégasque a débloqué 50.000 € pour soutenir leur projet commun. Ainsi, l’Amade Mondiale lance son opération “Bangon Probinsya” avec pour objectif de reloger de manière durable 47 familles avec des activités concrètes d’achat de terrain et de construction d’habitat dans leur province d’origine ; tout en assurant une prise en charge de la scolarité des enfants sur 3 ans, en facilitant l’accès aux soins et aux services de micro crédits.

Petite ou grande association, la Croix-Rouge monégasque s’engage auprès de toutes. Il en est ainsi pour l’Association Philippine de Monaco, qui a reçu 10.000 € de la Croix-Rouge monégasque pour financer les frais d’expédition de colis en faveur des familles sinistrées.

La situation des Philippines, toujours dramatique, mérite l’attention et l’aide de tous. Vous pouvez continuer à vous mobiliser en envoyant vos dons à la Croix-Rouge monégasque, en mentionnant “Philippines” par courrier postal

au 27 Bd de Suisse,
98000 Monaco

ou en vous rendant sur notre site Internet : www.croix-rouge.mc .

Votre panier est vide