At the beginning of the year, the Monegasque organisation launched a social and medical project to provide aid to isolated elderly individuals in this small country of the Caucasus region.

armenie2smallArmenia is the smallest of the former Soviet republics. Located in the South Caucasus, the country with 3 million inhabitants bordering Georgia, Azerbaijan, Iran and Turkey, has been through a great deal of trauma.

A diaspora of 5 to 6 million Armenians worldwide is a reminder of their suffering, exacerbated by conflict with Azerbaijan and Turkey, and the aftermath of the 1988 earthquake which led to a death toll of 25,000 and 500,000 homeless.

Today, over one third of Armenians live below the poverty line and unemployment affects over 17% of the active population. Many men leave the country to find work, mainly in Russia, whilst the women and sometimes children, especially in the north of the country, have to work to support their family.

armeniesmallThanks to the generous support of the Teofilo Rossi di Monterela Foundation and private donors in Monaco, this project will enable vulnerable seniors to gain access to medical care and appropriate welfare assistance at home, whilst encouraging mutual aid and self-help among these people in need. As for the Armenian Red Cross, it will benefit from high-quality structural and organisational support from its peers, in order to address population requirements more efficiently.

The first phase of the project began in March 2016 for a four-year period. We are still looking for partners to fund the entire project.

You can follow the project on the website of the Monegasque Red Cross: www.croix-rouge.mc or on the Facebook page “Red Cross of Monaco”

There are no products

L’organisation monégasque a lancé en début d’année un projet social et médical pour porter secours aux personnes âgées isolées de ce petit pays du Caucase.

armenie2smallL’Arménie est la plus petite des anciennes républiques soviétiques. Situé dans le Caucase sud, ce pays de 3 millions d’habitants frontalier avec la Géorgie, l’Azerbaïdjan, l’Iran et la Turquie, a connu bien des traumatismes.

Une diaspora de 5 à 6 millions d’Arméniens dans le monde nous rappelle leurs souffrances, aggravées par des conflits avec l’Azerbaïdjan et la Turquie, et les séquelles du tremblement de terre de 1988 qui a fait 25 000 morts et 500 000 sans-abris.

Aujourd’hui, plus d’un tiers des Arméniens y vit sous le seuil de pauvreté et le chômage y dépasse 17% de la population active. Beaucoup d’hommes quittent le pays pour trouver du travail, principalement en Russie, tandis que les femmes et parfois les enfants, surtout dans le nord du pays, doivent travailler pour faire vivre leur famille.

armeniesmallGrâce au généreux soutien de la Fondation Teofilo Rossi di Monterela et de donateurs privés à Monaco, ce projet permettra de donner aux personnes âgées vulnérables un accès à des soins médicaux et à une assistance sociale adaptée à domicile, tout en encourageant l’entraide et l’auto-assistance parmi ces populations dans le besoin. Quant à la Croix-Rouge arménienne, elle va pouvoir bénéficier d’un soutien structurel et organisationnel de qualité par ses pairs, pour mieux répondre aux besoins de la population.

Le projet a démarré au mois de mars 2016 pour une première phase de 4 ans. Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de partenaires pour financer l’intégralité de ce projet.

Vous pouvez suivre le projet sur le site Internet de la Croix-Rouge monégasque www.croix-rouge.mc

Ou sur la page Facebook” www.croix-rouge.mc

Votre panier est vide